Hearing the Brentano Quartet in concert is a sublime experience. For more than twenty years, audiences have marveled at the quartet’s luxurious tone and focused intensity. We leapt at the opportunity to host them again in Tulsa. With guest violist Hsin-Yun Huang, their concerts will feature quintets by Brahms, Mozart, and Mendelssohn. This gorgeous music will warm your heart and lift your spirits!

with violist Hsin-Yun Huang

“The Brentanos are a magnificent string quartet…This was wonderful, selfless music-making.”

The London Times

Friday, November 9, 2018 - 7:30 p.m.


108 Contemporary

6:45 p.m.

Doors open for wine and hors d'oeuvres


Purcell: Dido’s Lament

Gesualdo: Madrigals

Shostakovich: Elegy, Op. 36a

Carter: Elegy

Mendelssohn: Quintet in B-flat Major, Op. 87

program notes

Saturday, November 10, 2018 - 7:30 p.m.


Westby Pavilion

Tulsa Performing Arts Center

7:00 p.m.

Doors open for wine and conversation


Mozart: Quintet in C Minor, K. 406

Mendelssohn: Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 44, No. 3

program notes

Tickets for our Salon Series are sold-out, but may become available closer to the concert date. Call 918.587.3802 to be put on the waitlist.

Sunday, November 11, 2018 - 3:00 p.m.


John H Williams Theatre

Tulsa Performing Arts Center

2:15 p.m.

Pre-concert lecture by Noam Faingold, Composer


Haydn: Quartet in C Major, Op. 20, No. 2

Brahms: Quintet in F Major, Op. 88

Mendelssohn: Quintet in B-flat major, Op. 87

program notes!

Concert Highlight: Friday!


This program is especially poignant as the world marks the 100th anniversary of the end of World War I. The slow movement of Mendelssohn’s Quintet features one of the composer's most eloquently tragic utterances, alternately somber and fierce. For this concert, the Brentano Quartet selected other works from different eras that also give voice to the lament, complementing Mendelssohn’s deeply expressive music.

Pre-concert lecture: Sunday!

Lecturer: Noam Faingold, Composer and CMT Board Member

Timeless and New - Classical Music as the Contemporary Music of Its Day

It is easy to overlook Franz Joseph Haydn, Johannes Brahms, and Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy as inventive and innovative living composers, contributing to music as an ever-evolving art form in their time. The three pieces on this program share the use of older Baroque storytelling techniques and strategies to challenge the traditions of their day in the spirit of expanding the repertoire in new ways. Composer Noam Faingold will discuss some of the ways Haydn’s Quartet in C Major, Op. 20, No. 2, Mendelssohn’s Quintet in B-flat major, Op. 87, and Brahms’ Quintet in F Major, Op. 88 can be understood as contemporary music in their respective days.

Get to know the Brentano Quartet with violist Hsin-Yun Huang


Since its inception in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim. “Passionate, uninhibited and spellbinding,” raves the London Independent; the New York Times extols its “luxuriously warm sound [and] yearning lyricism”; the Philadelphia Inquirer praises its “seemingly infallible instincts for finding the center of gravity in every phrase and musical gesture”; and the Times (London) opines, “the Brentanos are a magnificent string quartet…This was wonderful, selfless music-making.” Within a few years of its formation, the Quartet garnered the first Cleveland Quartet Award and the Naumburg Chamber Music Award; and in 1996 the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center invited them to be the inaugural members of Chamber Music Society Two, a program which was to become a coveted distinction for chamber groups and individuals. The Quartet had its first European tour in 1997, and was honored in the U.K. with the Royal Philharmonic Award for Most Outstanding Debut. That debut recital was at London’s Wigmore Hall, and the Quartet has continued its warm relationship with Wigmore, appearing there regularly and serving as the hall’s Quartet-in-residence in the 2000-01 season.

Click here to learn more about the Brentano Quartet.

Click here to learn more about Hsin-Yun Huang